NMMU logo



Department of Architecture Accreditation News

DesBaker Second Prize Winners 2014

NMMU Department of Architecture 

2nd Prize Winners

From left: Ryan Pinches (3rd Year); Bradford Marshall (3rd YEar); James Thomson (3rd Year); Mr Boban Varghese (HOD) 

NMMU Architectural Workshop

NMMU International Architectural Workshops 2014



NMMU Validation Accreditation Information

You have an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

The Department of Architecture has been successfully producing professional architects for 37 years. The focus of the Department is on the creative core discipline of Design. Design is the act of turning the visionary ideas of the designer into built form employing a thorough and sensitive understanding of materials and technology while responding to the issues inherent in the context of the site. The Department runs one of the most vibrant and stimulating studio environments in which dedicated staff help students to realize the full potential of their ideas while developing their architectural skills. Students from the Department have won numerous national and international design competitions.

In addition to the focus on design, the program in Architecture is a balanced program that includes strong elements of Architectural and Urban Theory and History; Building Technology, Structure and Services; Law, Management and Professional Practice; and Architectural Computer Usage.

The Departments M Arch (Professional) graduates are able to register as full professional Architects and have a history of high achievement in the architectural profession nationally and internationally.

For further information contact the Department on 041 5042719, or contact: Head of Department: Mr Boban Varghese on 041 5042279 or Email: Boban.Varghese@nmmu.ac.za


The design and manufacture of a mobile fold-away trader’s barrow and the design of a “service node” in the future transport industry has resulted in runners-up positions for NMMU architecture students in two national competitions. Ian Winfield (bottom right) was awarded second place and R10 000 in the 2014 CaesarStone Student Designer competition for his personal transport energy system design (bottom left) and Ryan Pinches, James Thomson and Bradford Marshall took 2nd place and R10 000 in the annual Murray and Roberts Des Baker competition.


Mr. Boban Varghese
Head of Department:Architecture
Tel: 27 41 504 2719

First Year Admission Requirements 2016


Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

Telephone: 041-504 1111 | Fax: 041-504 2574 / 2731

E-mail: info@nmmu.ac.za

PO Box 77000 | Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

Contact usPort Elizabeth | 6031 | South Africa

YouTube Twitter Facebook Connect@nmmu


© NMMU 2013

A-Z Index

NMMU site map